Katt’s Ketchup

B and I rarely use ketchup. We don’t keep it in the fridge, but there are times that it’s needed. B does more on potato wedges, there’s

Baby Heinz Ketchup

Baby Heinz Ketchup (Photo credit: Vincent Ma)

ongoing debate on it, I call them potato logs. I don’t use it on my fries like the rest of America.

Last Sunday while B was baking bread, I wanted to make something. Decided on ketchup, it’s actually pretty good, the consistency isn’t the same because I didn’t cook it for two hours on the stove top nor did I make enough to warrant getting out the large crock pot either. Regardless, made some if needed.

As always, used what I had and combined different recipes.

  • 1 (6-ounce can) of tomato paste
  • ¼ cup distilled white vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • ½ tablespoon garlic powder
  • ½ tablespoon onion powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • Molasses
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ teaspoon paprika

Now, as I cooked it up, tasted it and added some more garlic and onion powder.

Some of the other recipes said to add allspice to it, didn’t have it so really didn’t worry about it. Another recipe said to put coriander, cloves and cinnamon (last one if I remember correctly). Makes sense to replace those for the allspice. Try something different next time. I put it in a leftover jar and let it cool in the fridge. Pretty spot on and without all that commercial processed extra added no good for you in it.

Leave a Reply

