Cattdee

Wednesday– all of Atlanta was under a tornado warning. Adairsville got hit pretty bad. I had a meeting at 1 that afternoon. It was okay. Not what I was expecting, not going to lie, a huge waste of time, but that’s another story.

Afterwards, was in the mood for a burger, stopped at Golden Arches. It was dead due to the weather. So sitting there, eating my huge burger and fries. One of the young ladies were grabbing a bite before her shift, when Mom called.

“Cattdee” as she says it. Half of my family can’t say the -th sound. “You okay. I heard tornado up dere. It near you?”

“No, mom. It’s past me.” The young lady eating at the table in front of me looks up and has a big smile on her face.

“Oh, not near you? How far?”

“No, mom. It hit another town but it’s about 20 miles away or so. Just a lot of wind and rain.”

“Okay. Bye.” I hang up the phone.

“It doesn’t matter how old you get, mom will always be mom,” I told the young lady across from me. She laughed, only if she really knew. She really wasn’t a young lady, more like a kid. My thought is if an age still at teen at the end of it as in, nineteen, still a kid.

“My mom was worried about it too.” The young lady across from me said.

* Now it may have seemed like a very short, heartless call from mom, but you have to understand how this works. My mom is one of those women that is 4 foot 10, straight to the point alpha female mom. Sometimes, her words don’t speak, but it’s the tone that you have to understand. And trust that the tone was there.

Don’t worry, I did talk to her later that night, a conversation that lasted much longer than the literally 22 second phone call from earlier.

Leave a Reply

